To get myself motivated for new beginnings, I am reading The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp. I admit that it can be challenging to keep up the discipline needed for creative success. When I was young, I wanted to be an artist and I spent time nearly every day drawing or painting- developing my talent. Somewhere along the way I lost that discipline and now find myself very much in need of it. So reading her book helps, as does committing to writing in this blog again because if I want a following, I need to provide content.

My forced vacation is giving me plenty of time to write and look for work. So I’m making a promise to myself to write for at least an hour every day to get that discipline back. Maybe I will break out the pastels and drawing pad as well because my artistic skills are in decline. One idea percolating in my mind is stretching my skills to create an art book. After taking a bookbinding class this summer I feel confident in my ability to produce an original single-copy book. I’ve started the verse part and have some ideas for making the pages shaped like the paper doll chains we used to make as children. Again, I have the time, now I need the discipline.

